Announcing the Atticus and Boo Blogathon!

In 1960, To Kill A Mockingbird released, and movie audiences beheld something unique in film history, although they wouldn’t have known it then: The last few minutes of the movie are one of two brief times Gregory Peck and Robert Duvall would share a screen.

It was Robert Duvall’s first movie. As Boo Radley, he doesn’t say a word; his thoughts and emotions come out on his face. We can see his love for Scout and Jem. We can see that he’s so painfully shy he cowers in the shadows, pressing against the wall as if the room isn’t big enough for him. At the same time, the character presents strength; he has just saved Jem and Scout from a murderous Bob Ewell. Even though he’s very briefly physically present, Duvall’s Boo is complex. The impression Duvall makes is both understated and powerful.

Gregory Peck’s Atticus is no less complex and powerful. An established star in 1960, he commanded the role of Atticus, garnering an Oscar for his work. His character is steady, reliable, fatherly, and trustworthy, not to mention full of surprises.

Sixty years later, the film is iconic. Duvall and Peck would make one more movie together, Captain Newman, M.D., which has strong production values and an excellent cast. However, Mockingbird started it all.

I had originally planned to co-host this blogathon with Gill from Realweegiemidget Reviews, but she had some stuff come up, so our co-hosting thing got put on the back burner for now. However, the idea we cooked up was too good to waste, if I do say so myself, so Gill said she was fine with me going ahead on my own. We’ll figure out something to host together later.

So yeah, this blogathon will pay tribute to those momentary costars, Peck and Duvall. Possible topics include:

  • Any film featuring Duvall or Peck.
  • Anything relating to either or both of these two stars (biographical, etc.).
  • A list of favorite films (can be a mixture of movies from both actors).
  • Your personal thoughts and experiences with To Kill A Mockingbird, or maybe a review, list of favorite moments, etc.

The rules are as follows:

  1. If anyone would like to participate, please leave me your chosen topics as well as your blog’s URL (or a link to your podcast) if we’re unacquainted. If you don’t have a blog, you’re welcome to write a guest post.
  2. Posts can be submitted on or around October second and third, with the usual wrapup post the next day. They can be sent via the comment section, my Contact page, my e-mail address (rebeccadeniston@gmail.com) or by Twitter (I’m at @TakingUpRoom).
  3. Nothing derogatory, please.
  4. Since it’s a big topic, duplicates are verboten unless writing about Too Kill A Mockingbird.
  5. New material only, please.
  6. Please link your post to this blog.
  7. Grab a banner and advertise the blogathon!

The Roster

Taking Up Room: THX-1138 (1971)

Realweegiemidget Reviews: The Omen (1976)

Dubsism: The Great Santini (1979)

Silver Screen Classics: The Valley of Decision (1945)

Pale Writer: Rambling Rose (1991)

A Scunner Darkly: A Shot At Glory (1999)

Cinema Catharsis: The Boys From Brazil (1978)

Movies Meet Their Match: Roman Holiday (1953)

18 Cinema Lane: Amazing Grace and Chuck (1987) and The Terry Fox Story (1983)

Poppity Talks Classic Film: The Stalking Moon (1968)

Pure Entertainment Preservation Society: Gentlemen’s Agreement (1947)

The Banners

atticusboobanner1

atticusboobanner2

atticusboobanner3

33 thoughts on “Announcing the Atticus and Boo Blogathon!

  1. Love the idea of this Blogathon! I’ll do the first film that I saw Gregory Peck in, Roman Holiday (1953), please!

    MovieCritic | Movies Meet Their Match

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a coincidence how I come across this blogathon after reading and reviewing ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ this year! I’ll sign up for the blogathon by reviewing ‘The Terry Fox Story’ and ‘Amazing Grace and Chuck’.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Rebecca.

    I’ve taken a long hiatus from blogging but on my return I seen your blogathon announcement. I’m currently mulling over a few different topics and I’m trying to decide which one to choose. Tough choice.

    I also announced another blogathon the other day. I thought it would be a great way to make my comeback. Here is the link below. Would love to have you join. Also, if you do wish to take part, could you leave a comment on my announcement post. I don’t receive notifications from replies on other bloggers blogs – so I might miss it otherwise.

    ANNOUNCING ‘THE THIRD SPENCER TRACY AND KATHARINE HEPBURN BLOGATHON’

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Rebecca,

    I was sure that I signed up for this blogathon weeks ago, but I don’t see my comment here. Anyway, I would like to write about “Gentleman’s Agreement” for this very clever blogathon.

    By the way, PEPS is hosting three blogathons in the remainder of 2020, The 4th Annual Great Blogathon in October (https://pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com/2020/09/22/announcing-the-4th-annual-great-breening-blogathon/), The Third Annual Claude Rains Blogathon in November (https://pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com/2020/10/01/an-old-friend-is-never-an-added-guest-please-join-us-for-the-third-annual-claude-rains-blogathon/), and The 2nd Happy Holidays Blogathon
    (https://pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com/2020/10/01/announcing-the-2nd-happy-holidays-blogathon/). If you could join one or more of these blogathons, that would be wonderful. We could really use your talent!

    Yours Hopefully,

    Tiffany Brannan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.