Hello, My Name Is…

You all know the drill. We introduce ourselves, awkwardly shake hands, and make small talk.

So yeah, here we go. My name is Rebecca Deniston, and I live in Placer County, California with my husband and small son. I have a B.A. in English from CSU Sacramento, with an emphasis on drama and film. My time at university was spent mostly doing what we Englishers call literary criticism. We read, watched, and commented on what we read and watched, mostly in long, formal detail. To an English major, criticism doesn’t necessarily mean being Roger Ebert, but has more to do with analyzing a work from a certain angle, such as feminism, psychology, or literary archetype.

After graduation and before becoming a mother, I worked at various jobs. I’ve been a cashier at Longs Drugs, a receptionist at a now-defunct mortgage banker, and a runner for lawyers. I worked at a secret shopper service. I was a receptionist-tech for an optometry chain. Lots of stories there.

Currently, I’m a stay-at-home mom, homeschooling our son, but I also volunteer as a docent with the Placer County Museums Division, and I absolutely love it. As a docent, I meet people from all over the United States and the world. Besides giving tours and manning museum desks, I work in Living History, showing kids what it was like to grow up in 1889. Plus, many Placer-area museums jointly host an event in the summer called the Heritage Trail, and for the past few years I’ve been one of three docents to play Alma Bell, a local girl who shot her lover. Museum work is never dull.

For the past seven years, I’ve written book reviews for the Docent Digest, the Placer County Docent Guild newsletter, and lately I’ve been wanting to do more. Originally, I was going to use this blog to review books and films from my personal library. I’ll still do that, but in order to keep these entries from becoming one long rave, I’ll also review books and films from other collections, with a little bit of real life thrown in for good measure. One of my hobbies is collecting old-time radio shows, so now and then I may slip in a few thoughts about that as well. In fact, count on it. I do a lot of writing with these programs playing in the background.

Most of all, I would really like these reviews to be dialogue starters. One of the best parts of my time in the English department was bouncing ideas and thoughts around with other people. I miss that. I hope this blog is a place where people feel comfortable adding to or disagreeing with what’s on here. Reviews are so subjective (which is kinda the point). Either way, let’s have fun, and keep it clean. We can disagree without nastiness.

Thanks for reading. I don’t know where this blog is going to take us, but it doesn’t matter. A little adventure never hurt anyone. ‘Til next time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

